WERA Executive Committee
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Share |
WERA Executive Committee


President (July 2018 – June 20)

Prof. Ingrid Gogolin

Director: Diversity in Education Research

Professor of International comparative and intercultural education

University of Hamburg, Germany

Ingrid is professor of international comparative and intercultural education research at the University of Hamburg and director of the research group ‘Diversity in Education Research’, Faculty of Education at Hamburg University. Her research is focused on problems of migration and linguistic diversity in education. She was coordinator of the European Educational Research Quality Indicators (EERQI) project, a three-year effort to develop new indicators and methodologies on quality of education research publications. She served as the interim president of the World Education Research Association WERA from 2009-2010, and is a past president of the European Educational Research Association (EERA) and the German Education Research Association (GERA/ DGfE).  Dr. Gogolin was awarded an honorary doctor’s degree by the University of Dortmund in 2013.


Immediate Past President (July 2018 – June 2020)

Dr. Felice J. Levine

Executive Director: American Educational Research Association, US


Felice J. Levine is Executive Director of the American Educational Research Association (AERA), based in Washington, D.C. From 1991 until 2002, Levine was Executive Officer of the American Sociological Association. She also served as Director of the Law and Social Science Program at the National Science Foundation from 1979 to 1991 and as Senior Research Social Scientist at the American Bar Foundation from 1974 to 1983. Her work has focused on research and science policy issues, research ethics, the academic and scientific workforce, and higher education. She has served as facilitator of WERA-in-formation since 2007. With interdisciplinary background across the social and behavioral sciences, she serves on the Executive Committee of the Consortium of Social Science Associations and is Vice-Chair and on the Board of Directors of the Council of Professional Associations on Federal Statistics. Levine recently served as chair of the National Research Council Workshop on Protecting Student's Records and Facilitating Education Research. She is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Association for Psychological Science, and the American Educational Research Association, and an elected member of the International Statistical Institute. She is a past President of the Law and Society Association. She received her A.B., A.M., and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Chicago in sociology and psychology.



President-Elect (July 2018 – June 2020)

Prof. Mustafa Yunus Eryaman

Professor of Curriculum and Instruction

Canakkale Onsekiz Mart University, Turkey


Mustafa Yunus Eryaman is professor of Curriculum and Instruction at Canakkale Onsekiz Mart University, Turkey. Professor Eryaman serves as the president of the Turkish Educational Research Association (EAB) and International Association of Educators (INASED). He is currently a visiting DAAD professor at the Institute for International Comparative and Intercultural Education in the University of Hamburg, Germany. He was a visiting Professor and Honorary Research Fellow at the Institute for Policy Studies in Education at London Metropolitan University in 2011. He received his MEd from the University of Missouri-Columbia and his PhD from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA.  Professor Eryaman has been serving on the WERA Council as the representative of the Turkish Educational Research Association (TERA) since 2009. He represented TERA at the formal establishment meeting of WERA in San Diego in April 2009, and at the official WERA founding ceremony in Vienna in September 2009. He also has been serving as a council member in the European Educational Research Association (EERA) since 2008.



Secretary General (July 2018 – June 2020)

Prof. Liesel Ebersöhn
Director: Centre for the Study of Resilience

Department of Educational Psychology
University of Pretoria, Pretoria, South Africa


Liesel Ebersöhn is the Director of the Centre for the Study of Resilience and Full Professor in the Department of Educational Psychology, Faculty of Education, University of Pretoria. She is a National Research Foundation-rated researcher, a registered educational psychologist and has received several awards for her research in Education and Educational Psychology. In 2012 she won the prestigious second position in the coveted Women in Science Award (Distinguished Researcher category) of the South African Department of Science and Technology. Early in her career as academic she won the Exceptional Young Researcher Award of the University of Pretoria and the Emerging Researcher Award of the Education Association of South Africa. A former Director of the Unit for Education Research in AIDS, and current institutional leadership as the Chair of the Ethics Committee (Faculty of Education), she has also been an Associate Professor and Research Fellow respectively at Yale University’s Department of Psychology and Centre for Interdisciplinary Research in AIDS, and Visiting Professor at the Fogarty Learning Centre, Edith Cowan University. She has read keynote papers and has been invited to present lectures across the globe on themes related to her research niche (combining emancipatory- and intervention research to investigate resilience as a human-ecological adaptive response to chronic and cumulative adversity characteristic of an emerging economy country in transformation).


She is currently the Secretary General of the World Education Research Association, Executive Editor of the South African Journal of Education and serves on the Executive Council of the Education Association of South Africa. She is one of few education researchers who were nominated to and accepted as an ASSAf (Academy of Science of South Africa) member. Liesel has published prolifically with more than 70 peer reviewed articles and book chapters, and more than 60 masters and doctoral students in Education and Educational Psychology completing their studies under her supervision. She has co-authored several books (Partnering for Resilience, Life Skills & Assets), co-edited others (Lifeskills & Career Counselling, Keyes to Educational Psychology) and been the editor of another (From Microscope to Kaleidoscope).


© 2009 World Education Research Association
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal